MCCadidas national junior tennis tournament tournament from Aug 12

first_imgChennai: The adidas-MC national junior under-18 clay tennis championship for boys and girls to be held here from August 12 to 17 would see the best of young talent taking part, organisers said. Haryana’s Ajay Malik, Kabir Hans (Odisha), Krishan Hooda (Chandigarh) and Sushant Dabur (Haryana) are the notable names in the boys section. The local challenge would be led by V M Sandeep, S Boopathy, Rajesh Kannan RS and Rishi Paventhan. In the girls event, Maharashtra’s Salsa Aher, Prerna V Vichare and Sharanya Vijay Garware apart from Delhi lass Kasish Bhatia are the prominent names. Also Read – Puducherry on top after 8-wkt win over Chandigarh The Tamil Nadu challenge would come from Lavanya Balakrishnan, Kaavya Palani, Kundana Sri Bandaru and Charanya Sreekrishna. On the tournament on Friday, TNTA president Vijay Amritraj said it was time to focus on the juniors and hoped India can find a breakout player who can go on to play grand slams regularly. He also thanked adidas for supporting the tournament over the years. A total number of 240 entries had been received (120 for boys singles and 88 for girls singles, 16 each for boys and girls doubles). The winner would receive sponsorship worth Rs 1 lakh from adidas. The qualifying rounds would start from August 10 and the main draw matches from August 12.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *